How are File Moves and Renames handled by VSTS?

Unlike many past source control plug-ins for Visual Studio, when you rename, move, or delete a source-controlled item, you do not have to worry that your change will not be properly shared with your teammates. The change is isolated in your local workspace as a pending change until you check it in. When you do so, the change is propagated to other users' workspaces the next time they perform a Get or Check In operation. This is particular type of file change (similar to an add or an edit). From the command line you can specifically use the rename or its move alias to rename/move a file or an entire folder. This is automatically done inside the IDE in relation to a rename/move of a file.